: Classifieds : MyJU :
Stories: News
Browse News Stories: « Previous Story | Next Story »

Assembly elections held in 35 municipalities

Date Posted: 2002-09-14

35 municipalities around Okinawa elected a total of 614 assembly members over the weekend in the first elections of the 21st century. Among those were Nago, Ishikawa, Gushikawa, Okinawa, Ginowan and Ishigaki cities, and 30 other towns and villages. About a third of those elected are new members of assemblies, and 27 are women. 755 hopefuls had vied for the posts.

Five municipalities also held mayoral elections. Shoken Hirakawa (57) won the mayoral race in Ishikawa City. Seijun Nakaema (67) won in Motobu Town, Yoshihi Shimabukuro (66) in Ogimi Village, Masayoshi Maeda (55) in Izena Village and Keishun Koja (47) in Chinen Village.

Generally, voters showed less interest in the elections as participation percent was down in most locations. The lowest was Ginoza Village where 63 percent of eligible voters cast the ballot. The enthusiasm was highest in Yonaguni Town where 96.6 percent of voters participated.

Browse News Stories: « Previous Story | Next Story »

weather currency health and beauty restaurants Yellowpages JU Blog

OkistyleOkistyleJU Facebook

Go to advertising PDF?||?|o?L?qAE?|?}?OA?N?ga`OkiStyle?A??q?qM?oeu^?I`??N?gX?<eth>?<ETH>?ni^?IWanted!!Golden Kings ScheduleOkiNightSeeker